Chicken curry

My husband and I took an Indian cooking class 4 or 5 years ago. We made a ton of different recipes. One of the few I make on a regular basis is this chicken curry. It is so delicious, and pretty easy to make at home. I made some modifications from the original recipe because I had some trouble finding a few of the ingredients, and I prefer coconut oil.

Here are all the ingredients lined up and ready to go.

20130107-155331.jpg
I have recently been more intentional about having everything out and ready to go so I’m not scrambling around looking for a specific ingredient in the middle of a recipe. Everything goes much smoother.

Here is the recipe card. I use the My Recipe Book app for iPad which is where the format for the recipe card comes from.

20130107-161619.jpg
The directions call for a whole chicken cut into pieces, I cut it into 8 pieces – 2 legs, 2 thighs, 2 breasts and 2 wings.

20130107-160613.jpg
It is really helpful to measure out all of your spices ahead of time, and have them all in one bowl to dump right in when you need to.

20130107-160820.jpg
I need to get a better photo of the final product, this looks somewhat unappetizing, but this is what I have for now.

20130107-161517.jpg
Also, usually I finish it in my enameled cast iron pan, but this time I needed to go somewhere for a few hours, so after it was all done except the simmering, I dumped it in my crock pot for 2 hours on high. It worked really well. I love it when a recipe works out in the crock pot, so I can get dinner ready earlier in the day, and it is ready to go when dinner rolls around.

One thought on “Chicken curry

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan Jan 7-13 | Enduring Food

Leave a Reply

