Clearing out the pantry

I have a bunch of stuff in my pantry that I bought for a specific recipe, and haven’t used the rest of the container. Other things I bought on a whim and haven’t used yet. There are some bulk purchases that are almost gone and need to be used up. I also have a whole freezer full of meat & other bulk purchases, some things I froze last summer that I need to organize and use up. So, I’m going to use the rest of January & as much of February as I need to clear out the pantry.

I want to be a good steward of our resources, and I hate wasting food. What has worked for me previously is putting everything I want to use out in a corner of my countertop. I really don’t like having a lot of stuff sitting out, so it is a great motivator for me to use it all up in a short amount of time.

I tackled the pantry and fridge this morning, and hope to get to the freezer later today. It is a good day to do it since our freezer is in the garage, and it is really cold today, so I can take some time getting everything out, organize it and make an inventory list of what we have so I can plan ahead for some cuts of meat I don’t have a lot of experience with.

So, I have a bunch of odds & ends sitting out on my counter top, and occupying a prominent spot in the fridge. Hopefully this will help me use it up, and remind me not to buy things I don’t really have a plan for – because I probably won’t use them in a timely fashion.

Leave a Reply

